Surrey 2016 WBSC XV Women’s World Softball Championship

The Greek Women’s National team will travel to Canada to compete in the 2016 Women’s World Championships held in Surrey, BC, Canada.  This will be Greece’s second participation in World Championships 10 years after competing in China and placing 9th in the competition.

A record 31 nations will be competing in the games from July 15-24, 2016.  The teams have been delegated into 8 sections as follows:

Round Robin Pools

Section 1: Japan, Venezuela, France;
Section 2: USA, Brazil, Austria, Israel;
Section 3: Australia, Mexico, Switzerland, Serbia;
Section 4: Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Uganda;
Section 5: Chinese Taipei, Puerto Rico, India, Ecuador;
Section 6: Netherlands, Czech Republic, Philippines, Pakistan;
Section 7: China, Cuba, Guatemala, Greece;
Section 8: New Zealand, Italy, Kenya, Peru

Greece was placed in section 7 and will compete in the first round against China, Cuba and Guatemala.  Details on the Championship can be found on the tournament website: